Listen Live
HomeNewsCommunity cast in Sound of Music for SLSF

Community cast in Sound of Music for SLSF

The St. Lawrence Shakespeare Festival is delighted to announce key casting for their 2015 community production of The Sound of Music. The production is a fundraiser for the Festival, directed by artistic director Rona Waddington. It features a cast of courageous members of the Prescott, Brockville and surrounding communities. Waddington says she is thrilled to be directing this show with its enthusiastic company of performers from across the region, many of whom will be acting, singing, and dancing for the first time.

The creative team also includes Brockville’s Malcolm Gillis as Musical Director and Pianist as well as Precott’s Nancy Casselman as Designer and Rose Napoli as the Assistant Director.

The cast of 28 includes Lynda Joanisse as Maria, Tom van Dusen as Captain von Trapp, Barry Greene as Uncle Max, Lynn McNab as Elsa, Karen Koivumaki as the Mother Abbess, Reverend Myra Garvin as Sister Sophia,Renata Kimmerly as Sister Berthe, Reverend Tracey Smith as Sister Margaretta, Bill Roberts as Franz, June George as Frau Schmidt, Dave and Sharon Kent as Baron & Baroness Elberfeld, Peter Green as Admiral von Schreiber, Joshua Chabot as Rolf, and Scott Hubbard as Herr Zeller.

The von Trapp children will be played by Dallis Campbell as Liesl, Alec Richardson as Friedrich, Carolyn Smith as Louisa, Gregory Garswood as Kurt, Kathryn Smith as Brigitta von Trapp, Julia Cadieux as Marta, and Heidi Garswood as Gretl.

- Advertisement -

Rounding out the cast as Singing Nuns and Party Guests will be Barbara Berry, Nancy Cassleman, Regina Giebels, Sharon Kent, Eleanor Miller, and Sally Tuffin. 

Audience can also expect a few surprise cameo appearances!

The production, generously sponsored by Investor’s Group of Brockville, will take place at St. Andrew’s Church, 425 Centre Street at Dibble, in Prescott. There are two performances; 2pm and 7pm on Saturday, August 29, 2015.

Tickets are now on sale and can be purchased online or by telephone at 613-925-5788.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading