Listen Live
HomeNewsNorth Grenville’s next council sworn into office

North Grenville’s next council sworn into office

At Monday night’s swearing in ceremony for the next term of municipal council, Mayor Nancy Peckford thanked the voters of North Grenville for re-electing her and her team.

Peckford was re-elected as Mayor with 75 percent of the vote, and all four current council members – John Barclay, Doreen O’Sullivan, Deb Wilson and Kristin Strackerjan – were also re-elected as incumbent candidates.

She also thanked the other candidates for running in the election.

“Elections are not for the faint of heart,” Peckford said, “and those who bravely entered this ring and supported them along the way, their respective campaign teams, you deserve to be saluted. It’s not easy.”

- Advertisement -

Peckford also thanked the re-elected council members for returning to the job.

“Despite varying interests, priorities, histories and preoccupations, we found a way to make some bold choices and important investments for the wellbeing of North Grenville,” she says. “As a leader, a parent, a homeowner, a taxpayer, and a council colleague, I’m immensely proud of so many of those choices.”

Peckford also said there’s lots of work left to be done, including expanding tourism in North Grenville, finishing the County Road 43 expansion project, and improving internet access in rural parts of the region.

The next term of office officially begins on November 15th.

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading